2009 JBRL Nitro Series, Round One

The first round of the 2009 JBRL Nitro Series took place April 25-26. The race was held at Thunder Alley Raceway in Beaumont, CA. Despite the economic concerns JBRL set a new record with an amazing 342 entries. Rob and Levi Jackson put together and excellent race track. The challenging track consisted of large high-speed jumps, elevation changes, mogul sections where speed and timing were crucial, and studder bumps.

This is the first organized series race with a 1/8-scale Electric Buggy class, which turned out to be a great race for Losi. Losi driver Todd Hodge dominated the 1/8 Electric Buggy class by taking top qualifying honors and nearly putting a lap on the entire field in the 10 minute A-main event. Todd used the Team Losi Racing 8IGHT-E 2.0 Buggy Race Roller, Losi's 14.8V 5000mAh 4S 25C LiPo battery pack and an Xcelorin 1700kv Brushless Motor and ESC combo to put himself in the top spot. Todd’s winning setup is available on Losi.com.

Losi also dominated the 1/8 Sportsman Buggy class with Ryan Cambell taking the win with his Team Losi Racing 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Roller. In the 1/8 Intermediate Buggy class Losi secured the top three spots with Dan Hissam, Don Vinkenmulder and Mike Lutz swapping the lead several times before Dan Hissam made a great move on the last lap in the last turn to beat out Don Vinkenmulder for the round one win. All drivers chose the Team Losi Racing 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Roller and Nitrotane 30% fuel. In the 1/8 Pro Buggy A-Main Team Losi Racing 8IGHT 2.0’s held 5 of the 13 A-main positions representing the highest car count of any manufacturer.

Losi would like to thank the Thunder Alley Crew and JBRL for making this race happen.