South African 1/8 Gas Nationals

Losi drivers finishing in the top four positions of The South African 1/8 Gas NationalsThe South African 1/8 Gas Nationals took place July 26-27. Losi had a very successful weekend at the event. In the 1/8 Buggy class seven drivers competed with the Losi 8IGHT Buggy, with four Losi drivers finishing in the top four positions of the race. First place went to Dean Steenmans, Charles Hollander finished in second place, Warrick Ferguson finished in third and Jonathan Ment finished in fourth place.In the 1/8 Truggy class, the 8IGHT-T Truggy was the vehicle of choice for many of the drivers. Losi driver Jason Raath took first place in this event with his 8IGHT-T.

Round 4, Swedish North Summer Series

Robert Gustofsson (center)wins with his Losi 8ightRound 4 of the Swedish North Summer Series was held in Alvsbyn from July 26-27. Approximately 60 drivers attended the race from the northern areas of Norrbotten. Losi drivers Robert Gustofsson and Mikael Svensson traveled from the south to race their Losi 8IGHT Buggies. According to Robert "the weather was great and the racing was fun." Losi had a very good day, sweeping the podium with Robert in first, Mikael Jonsson in second and Mikael Svensson in third. Robert also reports that his 8IGHT Buggy was equipped with Eclipse Red compound buggy tires for the entire duration of the race.

Midwest RC Pro Series

Josh Stough at the final round of the Midwest RC Pro SeriesThe final round of the Midwest RC Pro Series Division took place July 26-27 at Leisure Hours Raceway in Joliet, IL. Losi drivers Josh Stough and Derek Weatherholt competed in the 1/8 Expert Buggy class with their Losi 8IGHT Buggies.
During qualifying, Josh TQ'd the first two rounds and his opponent TQ'd rounds three and four. This resulted in a rocket round where Josh missed TQing by 2 seconds. However, Josh came back to take first place in the 45 minute A-Main race, with Derek finishing in second place. Josh's finish allowed him to gain enough points to take the buggy division win.
Both drivers also competed in the 1/8 Expert Truck class with their Losi 8IGHT-T Truggies. Josh finished in second place during the A-Main race and took second overall in the division.


Dunn Wins 2.2 Pro Rock Crawling Class

Austin Dunn wins at the 2008 Axial West Coast ChampionshipsFollowing up his win just 3 weeks before, Austin Dunn won the 2.2 Pro Rock Crawling Class at the 2008 Axial West Coast Championships July 18-20 at Donner Ski Ranch in Donner, CA. Right behind him was fellow team mate Brad Dumont in second place. Both Austin and Brad used Losi Rock Claws, Grappler Bodies, and Losi Rock Crawling Shock Sets on their rigs. In fact, 4 of the top 5 drivers used Losi Rock Claws in the finals.

Phillip Atondo wins at WERKS Nitro Madness

The WERKS Nitro Madness race took place at Prairie City RC in Rancho Cordova, CA from July 19-20. Losi driver Phillip Atondo competed at the event with his Losi 8IGHT Buggy. Phillip was the Top Qualifier in his class, and went on to win the 45 minute A-Main race by over a lap.

Rossiter Takes 2nd at Nitrofest

Patrick Rossiter (right)takes second place with hisLosi 8ight TruggyThe 2008 Nitrofest took place at the Farm II in Charlotte, NC. Losi Driver Patrick Rossiter competed in the 1/8 Expert Arena Truck class with his Losi 8IGHT-T Truggy. Patrick drove a great race, and took second place overall in his class.

Gustofsson at 2008 Swedish Championship

Robert Gustofsson (left)takes second place with hisLosi 8ightThe 2008 Swedish Championship took place on July 20, 2008 in Stockholm. Losi driver Robert Gustafsson competed at the event with his Losi 8IGHT Buggy. Robert battled for the win for the entire hour-long final. As a result of his excellent performance at the event, Robert was able to finish the race in second place.


Rabitti Wins Trofeo Sirio

The Trofeo Sirio was held at the Genzone Track near Pavia, Italy on July 13, 2008. Losi driver Riccardo Rabitti competed in the 1/8 Buggy class with his Losi 8IGHT Buggy. Riccardo drove 46 laps to take the overall win at the event. Congratulations Riccardo!

Johnson Wins ROAR Regional Championship

Sweetwater RC in Rock Springs, WY hosted the ROAR Regional Championship Race from July 12-13. 75 Racers from Wyoming, Utah and Colorado gathered in Rock Springs for the event. Losi driver Lars Johnson commented "The track was pretty technical with plenty of jumps to grab air, and some sections deteriorated faster than others, really putting pressure on your vehicles to hold up against the changing conditions."
Despite the challenging track conditions, Lars had a successful run in both the 1/8 Pro Buggy and 1/8 Pro Truggy classes. Lars competed in the Pro Buggy class with his Losi 8IGHT Buggy, where he finished second in the qualifying round and took first place in the A-Main. In the Pro Truggy class, Lars raced his Losi 8IGHT-T Truggy for the title of Top Qualifier and continued on for a first place win in the A-Main.

Drake wins JBRL Round 4

Adam Drake and Kyle Johnson at JBRL Round 4Round 4 of the JBRL Nitro Series took place July 12-13 at Sun Valley Speedway. With nearly 200 entries at the event, Losi drivers had their work cut out for them.
In the 1/8 Pro Buggy class, Losi/GRP/Nitrotane drivers Clint Watcher, Mike Truhe and Adam Drake completed the qualifying round with a 1-2-3 finish respectively. In the Pro A-main event Drake finished in first, Truhe finished in second and Watcher (TQ) finished in fourth. All three drivers were competing with the Losi 8IGHT Buggy and Losi XBT Red Compound Tires during qualifying, but in the final the choice of tires was Losi Eclipse, Red Compound Tires.
In the 1/8 Expert Buggy class Losi driver Mike Friery raced for the title of Top Qualifier using Losi Eclipse Tires on his 8IGHT Buggy. Losi/Nitrotane driver Kyle Johnson took the first place win in the Expert A-Main, while using Losi XBT tires on his 8IGHT.


STLR Sweeps the Podium

Sprucewood Team Losi Racing (STLR) swept the podium at on the largest races in Canada for 2008. Niagra RC hosted Round 3 of the Great Lake Off-Road RC Championship Series (GLORCS) and STLR dominated the event.
STLR drivers competed in the 1/8 Buggy and 1/8 Truggy classes. In the A-main of the 1/8 Buggy class, STLR drivers David Henry and Peter Head (TQ) took first and second place respectively. Losi drive Ben Wheeler finished in third place to complete the 1-2-3 Losi finish. In the 1/8 Truggy A-Main, STLR drivers David Henry finished in first, George Stiliadis (TQ) finished in second and Peter Head finished in third place.


2008 Ironman 120 Pro/Am Endurance Race

The 2008 Ironman 120 Pro/Am Endurance Race took place at The Nitro Pit on July 5, 2008. Losi drivers Mike Friery and Rich Chouinard teamed up to compete in the Buggy class with their Losi 8IGHT Buggies equipped with Losi's Eclipse Buggy Tires. Friery and Chouinard took the win with an 11 lap lead, for a total of 159 laps. Losi drivers Paul Lynch and Mike Van Osten ran their Losi 8IGHT-T Truggies in the Truggy class. Lynch and Van Osten took the win with a three lap lead.