2009 Dave Mapston Memorial

This past weekend, the Radio Control Car Club of Spokane (RCCCS) hosted the 9th annual running of The Dave Mapston Memorial. The 3-day event is well known throughout the Inland Northwest and attracts racers from Canada, Oregon, and Idaho. This year was no different and despite the difficult economical situation, there were over 160 racers in attendance.

Held in Spokane WA, the Dave Mapston Memorial race started in 2001 and has been an annual tradition since then. In early 2001, Dave’s life was taken inside his hobby shop, Spokane Indoor Raceway. Dave was a true ambassador and mentor of the hobby and sport. He was known for his care, compassion, and support for both newcomers and experienced alike. RCCCS hosts the Mapston Memorial in Dave’s honor, but also to raise funds for a local charity of the Mapston family’s choice and a donation is made in Dave’s memory. Over the years, donations have totaled well over $4,000.00.

Also in attendance was young Daniel Arnold who has visited the race the past couple years. This year, however, Daniel was the guest of honor. RCCCS provided Daniel with an honorary club membership, which entitles him to the same benefits as its members! Provided by Adam Drake and Team Losi, Daniel was also presented a Micro Desert Truck by team drivers and race attendees, Shane Preugschat and Randy Nolen. RCCCS would like to thank Adam Drake and Team Losi for their generous gift that filled the youngster with excitement!


2009 Nitrocross World Championships

The 2009 Nitrocross World Championships were hosted by The Nitro Pit in Wittmann, AZ. The event took place October 15-18, and was comprised of Pro Invitational Buggy/Truggy, Expert Buggy/Truggy, Intermediate Buggy/Truggy and Novice Buggy/Truggy classes. Cash prizes were given out to the top ten drivers of the Invite and Expert Buggy and Truggy classes. Other prizes were given to the first and second place winners of the remaining classes.

Several Losi drivers attended the event. Billy Fischer took second place in the Invite Buggy class with his 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Roller. Casey Peck was the Top Qualifier of the Expert Buggy class and went on to take first place in the A-Main, with teammate Chris Wheeler finishing in second place. In the Expert Truggy class Matt Schreffler finished in first place and Chris Wheeler finished in third place. Both drivers competed with the 8IGHT-T 2.0 Truggy Race Roller. In the Electric Buggy class Casey Peck competed with the 8IGHT-E 2.0 Buggy Race Roller for a second place finish.

Congratulations to all Losi drivers for a great race.

Invite Buggy
2. Billy Fischer
6. Adam Drake
7. Matt Castellano

Expert Buggy
1. Casey Peck (TQ)
2. Chris Wheeler
5. Charles Hicks
6. Don Vinkemulder
7. Chris Burling
8. Mike Bustamante
11. Colby Poh
13. Jonny Wachter
14. Matt Schreffler
15. Trevor Clement

Expert Truggy
1. Matt Schreffler
3. Chris Wheeler
4. Chris Burling
6. Casey Peck
9. Colby Poh (TQ)
10. Trevor Clement

Electric Buggy
2. Casey Peck


Johnson Wins at 2009 Colorado Nitro Series

The Colorado Nitro Series wrapped up its season this past weekend. The series consisted of two races at Rat Raceway in Denver, two races at Dirtworks in Burlington and two races at Colorado Springs Fast Track in Colorado Springs.

Several Losi drivers competed in the series including Matt Chambers, Dustin Evans, Lars Johnson and Chris Peralta. Lars reports that he had a great year in the Pro Truggy, he TQ’d and won three of the six rounds and had the overall win wrapped up before the 6th and final race. In the Pro Buggy class Lars and Dustin battled in out until the end. Dustin was able to TQ the final race, however Lars was able to come back for a first place finish in the A-Main.

Congratulations to all of the Losi drivers for a great series!

Pro Buggy – Overall Place/Points:
1. Lars Johnson - 497 points
2. Dustin Evans - 492 points
4. Chris Peralta - 483 points

Pro Truggy – Overall Place/Points:
1. Lars Johnson - 497 points
2. Chris Peralta - 491 points


8th Annual Race Against Cancer

The 8th Annual Race Against Cancer was hosted by McCullogh's Radio Controlled Off-Road Raceway in Pennsylvania. The race was a huge success with 126 entries. The racers had a ton of fun and raised $6600 for the American Cancer Society.

Losi drivers Gary Wiant, Anthony Mazzara, Eric Clark, Chris Wolfson and Tyler Wiant all competed at the event. Anthony had a great weekend, he was the overall winner of the 1/8 Pro Buggy and 1/8 Electric Buggy classes. Anthony was also the Top Qualifier in each of these classes, as well as the 1/8 Pro Truggy class. Anthony was also generous enough to raffle-off his 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Roller at the event. His buggy raised $370.00 for the American Cancer Society.