Losi Sweeps 2009 International Rock Crawling Championship of Spain

Team Losi Racings Richard Trujillo and Jake Wright were invited by Madrid Modelismo (Losi Spainsh distributor) to attend the 2009 International Championship of Spain held at the Hotel Augusta near Barcelona, Spain and hosted by PSF (Pilotossinfronteras) during the weekend of July 26 – 28.

Richard and Jake not only attended to compete but to also offer setup and driving tips while and hands on customer service for all the drivers competing with the new Team Losi Racing Comp Crawler. Not knowing what to expect for courses, the team from PSF hobby shop produced 4 amazing man made courses. One featured a very large rock garden while some of the other featured a “teeter-totter” to navigate and balance along with a rope bridge that was 12 feet up! Over 30 drivers attended this 1st time event with 1/3 of the field using Comp Crawlers. After 8 tough rounds of competition, Richard Trujillo finished on top with Jake Wright only 5 points behind for 2nd place and Iker Guerrero finishing in 3rd for a sweep of the podium.


Losi Finished 1-2 at Round 2 of Nova Rossi Summer Series

Round two of Nova Rossi's Summer Series was hosted by Revelation Raceway on July 25, 2009. The event consisted of 11 heats. In the buggy class Losi driver Adam Drake was able to TQ by more than 15 seconds over the competition and set a new overall fast time by one second.

In the buggy final Adam battled from the start for the lead, and successfully brought home a first place finish. Losi’s Matt Schreffler took home second place. Losi drivers Chris Burling and Trevor Adamo finished fourth and sixth respectively. All Losi drivers in the final were competing with the 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Roller, Nitrotane Fuel and Losi Kingpin 450-series tires.


Steenmans Wins 1/8 Gas South African National Championship

Last weekend the APN Race track hosted their first 1/8 Gas South African National Championship and all the top South African drivers were represented. APN is a beautiful long and wide track with excellent facilities.

Five of the ten vehicles in the A-Main were the Team Losi Racing 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Roller. Losi driver Dean Steenmans took top honors by taking first place with his 8IGHT 2.0 buggy and Losi tires. Other Losi drivers competing at the event included Jonathan Ment in third place, Andy Podrenek in fifth, Peter Dudley in sixth and Wesley Woolven in tenth.


Drake Takes First Place at ROAR Off-Road Fuel Nats

The 2009 ROAR Off-Road Fuel Nationals were hosted by Leisure Hours Raceway in Joliet, IL August 16-19. Several drivers from the Losi team traveled to event including Adam Drake, Billy Fischer, Dakotah Phend, Mike Truhe and Clint Wachter.

Saturday's qualifying for 1/8 buggy resulted in Mike Truhe as the top qualifier in first place, and Adam close behind in second. Both Adam and Mike were using Losi 450 Series tires on their 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Rollers. In fact, the 8IGHT 2.0 and Losi tires carried five drivers into the Buggy A-Main.

On Sunday Adam took first place in the 1/8 Buggy Final for the 2009 ROAR National Championship Title. Mike (TQ) finished the final in third, Billy in sixth, Clint in seventh and Dakotah in tenth. During the final Adam used Losi Eclipse Tires (Silver Compound) on his 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy.

Team Losi Racing's 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Roller fielded the most A-Main contenders with an incredible count of five drivers. The winning combination of the 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy, Losi Eclipse Tires, and Nitrotane Race Fuel brought home the 3rd consecutive ROAR National Championship title for the 8IGHT and Team Losi Racing.

Click here to see Adam’s setup for his 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy from the 2009 ROAR Fuel Off-Road Nationals.


Aigoin and Bayer Finish 2nd and 3rd at 2009 Euros

The Losi team performed very well at the 2009 EFRA 1/8th Off-Road European Championships in Wolbing, Austria. All of the Losi drivers competing at the event had a chance to attend the warm-up event, so the previous track time and knowledge was helpful towards their success.

Losi drivers Yannick Aigoin, Martin Bayer, Darren Bloomfield, Riccardo Rabitti and Jorn Neuman all competed at the event with their Team Losi Racing 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Rollers. Yannick, Martin, Darren and Riccardo all qualified to compete in the grueling 45 minute final. The general layout of the track included some challenging sections and proved to be very demanding on both the vehicles and drivers.

Yannick competed furiously with his competition for the entire final and finished the event in second place, and only a few seconds behind the driver in first. Martin’s consistent driving throughout the final allowed him to finish in third place. Darren finished the event in seventh and Riccardo finished in twelfth.

Congratulations to Yannick, Martin, Darren, Riccardo and Jorn for their excellent performance and outstanding teamwork!

Click on the links below to view the drivers' 8IGHT 2.0 setups from the event:
8IGHT 2.0 Setup Sheet - Darren Bloomfield, 2009 European Championships
8IGHT 2.0 Setup Sheet - Yannick Aigoin, 2009 European Championships
8IGHT 2.0 Setup Sheet - Riccardo Rabitti, 2009 European Championships


Drake Takes 1st Place in Buggy & Truggy at Round 1 of Nova Rossi Summer Series

The 2009 Nova Rossi Summer Series was held at Revelation Raceway July 11th. The event had 10 heats of drivers from Southern CA. The Pro buggy class turned out to be a bit of a warm-up for this weeks ROAR 1/8th Nationals for many drivers. Losi driver Adam Drake TQ’d both rounds of qualifying, and took the A-Main victory by two laps over the second place driver. Four Losi drivers and their 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy Race Rollers finished in the top five spots with Matt Schreffler in third, Chris Burling in fourth and Justin Watson in fifth place. All four Losi drivers were running Nitrotane fuel and Losi 450-series tires.

In the 1/8th truck class Adam was able to again take the TQ and win the A-Main in front of fellow Losi driver Robert Wickhan who finished in second place. Both Adam and Robert fueled their 8IGHT-T 2.0 Truggy Race Rollers with Nitrotane.

Congratulations to Adam and the Losi Team!

Bess Wins Arkansas' "$1000 To Win"

Losi driver Stephen Bess recently attended the “$1000 To Win” race at Thunder Valley Raceway in Beebe, Arkansas which is located just outside of Little Rock. Stephen reports that several drivers attended the event to compete in the 1/8 off-road buggy class.

The 8IGHT 2.0 Buggy had tremendous success at the event. Losi driver Alan Burton was the Top Qualifier, and the 45-minute A-Main was led by Losi drivers for a majority of the race. Alan led the race for the first 21 minutes, and Stephen led for the remaining 24 minutes. Stephen was the overall winner of the event, taking first place in the A-Main.

Congratulations to both Alan and Stephen on a great race!