JBRL Nitro Series

Southern California’s JBRL Nitro Series sponsored by TLR. The host track was Palm Desert Raceway. The event turnout was light with around 100 entries due to the Holiday weekend and the extreme temperatures of 118 degrees and the track temp was 166 degrees. In qualifying it was Team Losi Racing / Nova Rossi driver Adam Drake who set the pace in both of the expert 1/8th classes. The extreme temperatures made chassis and engine tuning difficult for most of the racers.
At the start of the truck main Drake began to pull away and at the end of the 25 minute main Drake took the win followed by Brad Wintermantle who was also driving a TLR 8ight T 2.0.

In the buggy final, Drake led from start to finish and won the 25 minute final. Tim Long finished third with his TLR 8ight 2.0. Due to the extreme heat a number of drivers had engine problems, but Drake’s Nova Rossi engines ran prefect all day and he took the double victory. Nova Rossi engines also tq’ed and won the intermediate buggy and truck class. Congrats to Jacob Haas on winning truck with his TLR 8ight T 2.0 and to Sean Gaffney for winning the buggy class.
Photos courtesy of Brian Cross.

1/8th Expert Buggy Chassis Engine Tire
1st Adam Drake (TQ) TLR 8ight 2.0 Nova Rossi BTTS Losi Kingpin (red)
3rd Tim Long TLR 8ight 2.0 Orion Losi Kingpin (red)

1/8th Expert TruckChassis Engine Tire
1st Adam Drake (TQ) TLR 8ight T 2.0 Nova Rossi Bonito Losi Kingpin (red)
2nd Brad Wintermantle TLR 8ight T 2.0 OS PL